Ebooks - EBSCO: Research

For more than 30 years, Designing Clinical Research has set the standard as the most practical, authoritative guide for physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other practitioners involved in all forms of clinical and public health research. Using a reader-friendly writing style, Drs. Warren S. Browner, Thomas B. Newman, Steven R. Cummings, Deborah G. Grady, Alison J. Huang, Alka M. Kanaya, and Mark J. Pletcher, all of the University of California, San Francisco, provide up-to-date, commonsense approaches to the challenging judgments involved in designing, funding, and implementing a study. This state-of-the-art fifth edition features new figures, tables, and design, as well as new editors, new content, and extensively updated references to keep you current.

This concise book presents evidence-based medicine to neophytes in simplified, friendly language. Basic concepts and application of research statistics are presented in simple sequences that are non-threatening even to the mathematically challenged. The authors emphasize two important aspects of appraisal: 1) how directly it provides an answer to the clinical problem at hand and 2) how well results can be generalized to various populations.

By the time you've read this book, you'll be ready to design your own research project Not everyone in clinical research is a scientific investigator. In fact, a large proportion of health professionals undertaking a research project are working in clinical care, as junior doctors, nurses or allied health professionals. For them a book that begins with the basics of study design and takes them through all the stages to data collection, analysis, and submission for publication is vital. Getting Started in Health Research is the answer. It provides fundamental information on: Framing the research question Performing the literature search Choosing the study design Collecting data Getting funding Recruiting participants Writing your paper Lively case studies provide a continuous narrative, addressing the pitfalls and problems that can occur. Calling upon their vast experience of teaching health research methodology, these authors have turned a seemingly daunting task into a challenging and enjoyable prospect.

The leading figure in qualitative health research (QHR), Janice M. Morse, asserts that QHR is its own separate discipline—distinct from both traditional health research and other kinds of qualitative research—and examines the implications of this position for theory, research, and practice. She contends that the health care environments transform many of the traditional norms of qualitative research and shape a new and different kind of research tradition. Similarly, the humanizing ethos of qualitative health research has much to teach traditional researchers and practitioners in health disciplines. She explores how the discipline of QHR can play out in practice, both in the clinic and in the classroom, in North America and around the world. A challenging, thought-provoking call to rethink how to conduct qualitative research in health settings.

This book provides the first resource dedicated to critically examining gender and sex in study designs, methods, and analysis in health research. In order to produce ethical, accurate, and effective research findings it is vital to integrate both sex (biological characteristics) and gender (socially constructed factors) into any health study. This book draws attention to some of the methodological complexities in this enterprise and offers ways to thoughtfully address these by drawing on empirical examples across a range of topics and disciplines.

Increase your knowledge of the clinical trials and evidence that lay the groundwork for current practice with Internal Medicine Evidence: The Practice-Changing Studies. Brief, easy-to-read, and accessible, this time-saving reference allows you to quickly familiarize yourself with 100 of the most practice-changing clinical trials in internal medicine. This unique title is ideal for medical students, residents, and seasoned practitioners alike, providing insight and understanding into today's practice of internal medicine.

Interesting and important ethical questions confront researchers, regulators, institutional review boards, support personnel, and research participants committed to the ethical conduct of human subjects research at all stages of research. Questions encompass - but are not limited to - study design, enrolling participants, balancing the clinical needs of participants against the research agenda, ending trials, discharging post-trial obligations, and resolving conflicts. Straightforward solutions to these types of questions are often not found in regulations, ethics codes, or the bioethics literature.

Medical Statistics Made Easy 3e scores 99/100 and 5 stars on Doody's (Sept 2014)! Here's what the reviewer said:'This is a practical guide to the use of statistics in medical literature and their application in clinical practice. The numerous examples help make the conceptualization of complex ideas easy. It is a great resource for healthcare students and clinicians in the field.'Medical Statistics Made Easy has been a perennial bestseller since it was first published in 2003 (#1 bestseller in medical statistics on Amazon). It is widely recommend on a variety of courses and programmes, from undergraduate medicine, through to professional medical qualifications. It is a book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicine and healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject.

Clinical Research Manual: Practical Tools and Templates for Managing Clinical Research is the “must-have” book for anyone working in the day-to-day operations of a research study or clinical trial. Filled with tools, techniques, and templates, this manual offers clinical researchers, principal investigators, and research coordinators the foundation they need to successfully organize complex trials.

Translational Research and Clinical Practice offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to evidence-based medicine. The use of medical literature has always been an integral tool for patient care, yet recently the modern processes of question formulation, literature search, and study evaluation have changed with the advent of the internet and technology. The physician must be able to find empirical evidence from the appropriate study using a searchable question and then determine its impact on patient care.

The potential of the e-health revolution, increased data sharing, database linking, biobanks and new techniques such as geolocation and genomics to advance human health is immense. For the full potential to be realized, though, privacy and confidentiality will have to be dealt with carefully. Problematically, many conventional approaches to such pivotal matters as consent, identifiability, and safeguarding and security are inadequate. In many places, research is impeded by an overgrown thicket of laws, regulations, guidance and governance. The challenges are being heightened by the increasing use of biospecimens, and by the globalization of research in a world that has not globalized privacy protection. Drawing on examples from many developed countries and legal jurisdictions, the book critiques the issues, summarizes various ethics, policy, and legal positions (and revisions underway), describes innovative solutions, provides extensive references and suggests ways forward.

Written by authors who are hospitalists and clinician-educators, Cases in Hospital Medicine uses practical case studies and current medical evidence to guide you expertly through the types of cases seen most often by practicing hospital-based clinicians. This engaging handbook covers the wide range of both broad and specific knowledge required in the hospital environment, while focusing on highly relevant questions and today's best practices. You'll find real-world guidance on essential topics, including commentary on research studies and clinical guidelines.